The music of Lennie Tristano

Lennie Tristano2
André Fernandes
Nuno Ferreiraguitar
Nelson Cascaisbass
André Sousa Machadodrums

This quartet includes musicians that are already part of the History of Jazz in Portugal, in a tribute to the music of the great Lennie Tristano, and his followers.
The repertoire includes pieces by Tristano, Lee Konitz, Warne Marsh and Ted Brown.
A fresh and modern reading of music of a unique rhythmic and melodic beauty  and complexity, with the original sonority of the two guitars replacing the classic front-line of two saxophones.

“(…) a repertoire identified with Lennie Tristano and his school, around which the two guitarists formed a very interesting group and deserving of the widest publicizing. Excellent the musical complicity between the two leaders in the exploration of the unisons and counterpoint in Tristano’s writing.”
António Curvelo in “Público”

“(…) allowed us to confirm the brilliant qualities of our two best guitarists in their interesting project dedicated to the unmistakable music of Lennie Tristano.”
Manuel Jorge Veloso in “Diário de Notícias”

Crosscurrents live at the Hot Club / Interview (PT)
Video by Fernando Mendes /


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Guitarist and Composer – Nuno Ferreira's official webpage

%d bloggers like this: